Welcome to

Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists



The Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists (IAMM) was born in the year 1976 at Kasturba Medical College, Manipal when the medical microbiologists of our country felt the long awaited need for starting our own Association. Many of our colleagues who assembled at Manipal for the Annual Conference of the Association of Pathologists and Microbiologists (IAPM) also felt the need for a separate Association for the microbiologists.

Considering the fast development of the subject in the recent years, as well as the growing number of specialists in the field, it was felt that the time was ripe to establish our own Association to improve the status of the subject of Medical Microbiology as well as medical microbiologists in our country. Thus it was decided at Kasturba Medical College to start our own Association and nominate Dr. S.C. Agarwal, Dr. K.B. Sharma and Dr. Shriniwas as three chief architects to undertake the responsibilities to put the foundation for the new organization.


Thirty medical microbiologists from various parts of India joined as Founder Members and extended their support and suggestions to chart out the rules and regulations of our organization and christened it the Indian Association of Medical Microbiologists. The membership of IAMM has grown constantly and more than 1500 members have been enrolled till date.



Office of IAMM - EQAS

Dr. Chand Wattal,

Chairman, IAMM-EQAS

Dept of Clinical Microbiology & Immunology

Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, Rajender Nagar,

New Delhi-110060,

Ph: 01142251118/01142251134

Email : iammeqas.dlh@sgrh.com

Website :www.iammeqasdelhi.com




Dr. V. Balaji
Professor & Head,
Department of Microbiology
Christian Medical College (CMC),
Ida Scudder Road,Vellore - 632004


Dr. Rajesh Kannangai
Professor & Head,
Department of Clinical Virology
Christian Medical College (CMC),
Ida Scudder Road,Vellore - 632004